SARA RENKES, County Engineer
Carroll County Highway Department
10735 Mill Road
Mt. Carroll, IL 61053
Phone: (815) 244-3195
Fax: (815) 244-3197
Email: coengr@carrollcountyil.gov
Office Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm,  Monday - Friday

The Highway Department is responsible for constructing and maintaining
125 miles of roads and roadways throughout the county. There are also 24 bridges under county authority.

The department surveys, plans, and supervises the design and construction of all road and bridge projects within the county right-of-way system.  This department is also responsible for the township projects constructed or maintained with Motor Fuel Tax Funds and gives technical assistance to township road commissioners when requested.

Maintenance operations include snow and ice control, traffic line painting, mowing, brush/tree trimming, pavement repairs, drainage installations, and seal coating. 
It is part of the duties of the department to inspect, review and determine the appropriateness of driveways, culverts, signs, and other miscellaneous activities that occur within or along the right-of-way of county roadways.

This department also issues permits for oversized vehicles using county highways and to utility companies, municipalities, etc. for the excavation and installation of utilities within the county highway right-of-way.

Township Mileage

Cherry Grove-Shannon Township 72.20
Elkhorn Grove Township 32.44
Fairhaven Township 50.70
Freedom Township 35.04
Mount Carroll Township 45.19
Rock Creek-Lima Township 66.96
Salem Township 33.64
Savanna Township 13.57
Washington Township 19.36
Woodland Township 33.54
Wysox Township 48.43
York Township 53.89

Illinois Road Jurisdiction Map

Ideal Bridge Project