Circuit Clerk

Carroll County Courthouse
P.O. Box 32
Mt. Carroll, IL 61053
Phone: (815) 244-0230
Fax: (815) 244-3869
Office Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday

The Circuit Court of Carroll County is a part of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit which also includes the Circuit Courts of Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Ogle and Lee counties. Judges from the Circuit Court of Carroll County may hold court throughout the circuit as assigned by the Chief Judge of the Circuit.

The Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court is a Constitutional Office. While the Clerk is elected on a county wide basis, it is not a county office as defined by the Illinois Constitution. It is a non-judicial office of the judicial branch of state government. The duties are set forth by statute, Rules of the Supreme Court and Local Circuit Court Rules. The Clerk is required to attend all sessions of court, keep and preserve all records and files of the court, issue process as required by law, and are the Keeper of the Seal of the Court.  The Circuit Clerks office handles every type of case from a traffic tickets to a Criminal cases, Small Claims to a large personal injury suit, from adoption cases to probate of an estate cases.

The Circuit Court can decide, with few exceptions, any kind of case arising under state law. The exceptions are redistricting of the General Assembly and the ability of the Governor to serve or resume office. The Circuit Court also shares jurisdiction with the Illinois Supreme Court to hear cases relating to revenue, mandamus, prohibition and habeas corpus.


Illinois Standardized State Forms