Carroll County Animal Control Facility
10735 Mill Road
Mt. Carroll, IL 61053
Phone: (815) 244-9705
Office Hours: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM, Monday - Friday
Please call ahead to make an appointment
The Animal Control office investigates complaints of dogs running at large, picks up stray dogs and investigates complaints of abuse and neglect.
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR DOG ONLINE
All dogs must be vaccinated for rabies and registered with the County.
To view our list of adoptable animals please visit www.carrollcounty.petfinder.com
I live in town and I wish to make a complaint about a dog or other animal.
Contact your local police department. Police departments are the authorities having jurisdiction within city limits. This office works in cooperation with local police when need as directed by the chief of police or their agent. Any complaints about animals in town need to be initiated with the local police department, police will contact this office if they need assistance.
Does Carroll County offer assistance for low income pet owners for spay and neuter?
Only for Dogs. The county does not provide assistance for cats. The state of Illinois also offers assistance through the Pet Population Control Fund which is administered through the Department of Human Services.
Do you pick up cats?
If a cat bites a human and is in need of quarantine, yes, this is the only situation which requires this office to do so. We do not pick up or take in stray, feral or unwanted cats.
What does it cost to adopt a dog from the pound?
The Adoption Fee is $35 dollars plus cost of spay/neuter and vaccinations. All dogs adopted out of the Carroll County Pound are required to be sterilized, vaccinated for rabies and microchipped before they can be released. Residents of the county who adopt are eligible for a discount through our PPCF. (Example, In January of 2021, we had a 60 lb male dog that was adopted, his total vet bill for surgery and vaccination was 199.75 + 35.00 = 234.75 cost to the new owner) Generally, female dogs cost more but the example is a good average.
What is the cost to relinquish a dog to the pound?
Does Carroll County have a leash law?
Yes, County Code section 380 refers to animals. Allowing a dog to run at large contrary to provisions in the section is a violation of 380-1 (c)
County Code does not apply within city and village limits.
Do I have to register my dog?
Yes, per Illinois state law, all dogs aged 4 months and older are required to be inoculated for rabies by a licensed veterinarian and registered with the county in which they reside. You can find instructions for paying your registration on the animal control page
Can I pay with a credit/debit card over the phone?